So, this is probably something I should have addressed earlier…but oh, well. You get it now. So why should you study, and why should you be in the market for a new study spot? Well, if you’re set in your ways of either blowing off classes (which I’m sure happens…) or if you’re sticking to one spot forever and ever, this probably isn’t a blog for you. Now, don’t get me wrong, you are more the welcome to read it, but it might not mean much to you.

So why should you study? To get good grades? That’s obvious. But also, it can be a valuable socializing/networking/communicating thing to do. I personally always need breaks when I study, and when studying with other people, or around other people, there’s an easy distraction when needed. The important thing is to not over utilize the distraction. That can pose problems… When studying in a public place, oftentimes you will run into someone you had a class with once upon a time. I know it’s happened to me before. It’s much easier to say “hello, how have you been” when walking by in a library than taking the time to look the person up on Facebook. I know I’ve reconnected with people before in the library…sometimes it’s awesome, sometimes it’s awkward. Either way, you can deal.

So how does studying help with communication? It might not if your studying consists of reading or writing a paper, but if you’re working on a homework set (like Chemistry or Math), WATCH OUT! If you’re working on the homework with friends (independently writing your own homework up), and a friend gets stuck, you can be there to answer his/her questions! Often I’ve explained how to think through a problem to a friend (or wait, I’m I reversing things? :D) and that helped me in two ways: first, communicating what I actually mean and “teaching” without giving away a direct answer, and second, it reinforces what I know. “Teaching” someone actually helps you learn. Shocker!

So now that there are a few reasons to study out in a public place (and with people), why should you be in the market for a new spot? Well, you might find someplace to better suit your needs. Studying alone is very different from doing some group work, and certain locations are better for each.

Also, sometimes things happen at your study spot that might make you not want to return. To what am I referring? Well, let’s just say if a creepy man came up to you in one spot, and wouldn’t leave you alone, you might think twice before going back………….. Anyway, not to scare you off of trying someplace new, but this university has so much building space that so few students utilize. Look out for upcoming posts on some more “obscure” places!