So today in blogging class we were given an assignment. Actually, we were given a link and then had to post about it – it didn’t matter what we posted on – we just had to start from the link.

So I’m not going to say I was surprised with my link, although I was. It’s a “not so very secret” secret that I want to be a math teach some day. Most of my friends don’t realize this (probs cause my presenting skills need some work) and half the time I get a “shocked” reaction, while the other half of the time I get a “that would be great for you!” reaction.

So you might ask, where did this link take you? Well, it took me here. Now, although I don’t want to teach kindergarten, I do want to teach math. I haven’t gotten to the point in my life to actually start considering teaching style/methods/etc. but I will at some point. (I’m almost to the point to start looking for grad schools in the Chicago area for a MS Education – night school baby!)

If you haven’t gone to the link, I don’t blame you, but here’s basically what you missed: reduce the speed at which math is taught by using the Singapore method. There are issues to changing the methods in which students are taught (costs being the primary reason) but also some advantages. Despite upfront costs to things, I actually “believe” in the invest for the future philosophy. If this new method will help students learn basic math skills better, what’s the deal? Aren’t kids supposed to be well taught? They are the future you know…

Basically the Singapore math teaching method provides students more time to actually understand the math before moving on. I feel like many classes are rushed because there is a “point in the book” to which must be covered (this is VERY evident in my college courses). Give people more time to actually absorb and understand what is being taught – it’ll save you time (a.k.a. money) in the future.