So, I know, not a public spot on campus, but most students do have a room in the campus area (whether that be in a dorm, an apartment, a house, etc.). For some people it is a safe haven – a place where they feel most comfortable; for others, it’s a great study space. A nice desk, organized just the way you want, with no one else to screw it up. Access to food and water when you need to get your energy level up (coffee to keep you awake…). A zone to just sit down and do your work.

I am not that kind of person. The past three years I’ve lived in the dorms (freshman year in East Quad, and the past two years in MoJo) and have had a desk provided to me. Freshman year I rocked at studying in my room – probably because people would always ask me for help on homework, so it was like an interactive study session. Since then, I have failed to do work (unless it’s 3am and I really don’t feel like spending the entire night in the library).

This year, I am “off campus” (woo hoo!). I have one roommate and we each have our own bedrooms. Now, when deciding who got the larger room (yes, one is quite larger than the other) it was simple. I didn’t want a desk, she did. Thus, she needed more space. Despite the fact that I don’t have a desk, I can still be someone productive in my room. It’ll be a great study spot come crunch time. But, for now, not so great. I tried tonight. I did accomplish some math homework…while sitting on my bed and watching Prison Break. So a simple 10 minute homework assignment turned into a 3 episode ordeal with some dinner making thrown in.

Bottom Line: Studying at home will really depend on you. Some like it, some don’t. I stay away from it when I need to get “serious” work done.